Skip to main content

A Crafter Quilts a Crime by Holly Quinn



 Character Guest Post


A Crafter Quilts a Crime
Holly Quinn

Today I want to share one of Ellie’s special recipes that she prepares on a cold WI evening. Sammy and Heidi often stop by to visit on such nights, as it’s a family favorite. You can find this recipe and more in the back of the book titled: A Crafter Quilts a Crime:

Ellie’s Meatball Soup
(best for days when temps dip below zero)

Ingredients:
Homemade small sized frozen meatballs made ahead. See below. Or purchase frozen meatballs to save this step.

Meatballs:
1 lb. ground chuck
1 lb. sage jimmy dean sausage tube
1 egg
½ Vidalia onion finely chopped
¼ cup premade apple sauce
¼ cup breadcrumbs
½ tsp basil
½ tsp oregano
Lawry salt to taste

Assemble:
Mix ingredients in a small bowl. Form into walnut size meatballs. Bake in a 350-degree oven until no longer pink. Freeze meatballs in freezer bags until ready to prepare soup.

Soup Ingredients:
1 container full V-8 juice or (Ellie’s Aunt B’s gardened canned tomato juice)
1 32 0z (container size) beef broth
One sweet onion finely chopped
2 cloves garlic minced
Celery chopped (one or two to taste)
Carrot chopped (one or two to taste)
Two or three golden yellow potatoes peeled and chopped
1 can petite or diced chopped tomatoes
1/3 of a green pepper finely diced
Bay leaf
½ tsp Oregano
½ tsp Basil

Assemble:
Place all ingredients on high in crock pot except potatoes until it comes to a simmer. Add potatoes after the crockpot is bubbly so they don’t become too mushy. Cook until potatoes are fork tender.

*Substitution:  Can replace potatoes with white minute rice if desired.  And if Aunt B’s canned green beans are still available, add a mason jar’s worth to taste. Cook on low until veggies are tender. Enjoy!

A Crafter Quilts a Crime: A Handcrafted Mystery
by Holly Quinn

About A Crafter Quilts A Crime

A Crafter Quilts a Crime: A Handcrafted Mystery
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (February 11, 2020)
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1643852906
ISBN-13: 978-1643852904
Kindle ASIN: B07RTMXRK8
Perfect for fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, Holly Quinn’s third Handcrafted mystery aspires to wrap you in its warmth.
Community Craft proprietor Sammy Kane must piece together a patchwork of clues when a “live” mannequin ends up stone-cold dead.
Snowcapped pines and glittery dusted sidewalks adorn tranquil Heartsford, Wisconsin, while residents cuddle beneath heirloom quilts in front of cozy wood fires. But come the next day, the below-zero temperatures won’t keep the locals away from Heartsford’s annual Fire & Ice event. To boost customer traffic at Community Craft’s one-night-only sale, Samantha “Sammy” Kane persuades a few of the craftspeople who sell their wares at the store to participate in a live mannequin window display contest.
Local quilter Wanda Wadsworth emerges as a favorite to win the contest, as she manages to not move a muscle for an unusual amount of time. Onlookers outside the window try everything to get her to crack–tapping on the glass and making funny faces–but nothing disrupts Wanda’s stillness. When the eagle-eyed spectators realize Wanda isn’t breathing, a blanket of grief and fear descends upon the wintry town.
Detective Liam Nash can’t seem to piece the clues together. Fortunately, Sammy’s cousin, Heidi, and her sister, Ellie, are on hand to reconvene their detective team, S.H.E. They set out to solve Wanda’s untimely death before the case grows as icy as a sub-zero Wisconsin winter. But they are all too aware that the killer is too close for comfort.

About Holly Quinn

Holly Quinn has published two stand-alone fiction novels in another persona. She graduated from Carroll University in Wisconsin with a Bachelor of Science in business and a minor in marketing. This is her second Handcrafted mystery. Visit her @ www.authorhollyquinn.com

Author Links – 
Website – www.authorhollyquinn.com
Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/HollyQuinnbooks/
GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7940795.Holly_Quinn

Purchase Links – Amazon – B&N – BAM – IndieBound – Powell’s Books – Walmart 


a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR PARTICIPANTS
February 1 – Diary of a Book Fiend – REVIEW
February 1 – Literary Gold – CHARACTER GUEST POST
February 2 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
February 2 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW
February 3 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
February 3 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
February 4 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW
February 4 – The Book Decoder – REVIEW
February 5 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT
February 5 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
February 6 – Cozy Up With Kathy – CHARACTER GUEST POST
February 6 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW
February 7 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW
February 7 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT
February 8 – This Is My Truth Now – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
February 8 – Brianne’s Book Reviews – REVIEW
February 9 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
February 9 – Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers – SPOTLIGHT
February 10 – My Reading Journeys – SPOTLIGHT
February 10 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW
February 11 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW
February 11 – Maureen’s Musings – REVIEW
February 12 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW
February 12 – Brooke Blogs  SPOTLIGHT
February 13 – Mysteries with Character – GUEST POST
February 13 – Gimme The Scoop Reviews – REVIEW
February 14 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW
February 14 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
February 14 – Diane Reviews Books – GUEST POST

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?






Comments

  1. Mannequins are creepy. Excellent placing of a murder victim!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you for being part of the book tour for "A Crafter Quilts a Crime" by Holly Quinn.

    Great recipe from Holly and one I'm going to try.

    Great cover! Now I can't get the old song "How Much Is That Doggie In The Window" out of my head. :)

    Sounds like a wonderful book and one that I would greatly enjoy reading. Now on my TBR list.
    2clowns at arkansas dot net

    ReplyDelete
  3. This is a new series to me. I like reading cozies featuring crafts. Looking forward to starting the series.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the cover art and the story sounds like a load of fun. I've never made a Meatball soup. I might give it a try. Thanks for sharing and Best wishes to the author on the new release.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Did you know? Comments shorter than 8 words are considered to be spam. Please, when leaving a comment, be sure that it is relevant to the post, and is more than just 2 or 3 words. I know we all enjoy the giveaways, but seriously, put some thought into your comments. If your comment looks and feels like spam, it will be removed. FYI - 'Sounds great. Thanks for sharing' is not a good comment. Thank you!