Skip to main content

Booked for Death




Booked for Death: A Book Lover’s B&B Mystery
by Victoria Gilbert

About Booked for Death 


Booked for Death: A Book Lover’s B&B Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books (July 7, 2020)
Hardcover: 320 pages
ISBN-10: 1643853074
ISBN-13: 978-1643853079
Digital ASIN: B07XX7PHTV (June 9, 2020)
From the critically acclaimed author of SIBA Okra Pick A Murder for the Books, Victoria Gilbert embarks with a new series for perfect for fans of Kate Carlisle and Juliet Blackwell.

A book lover’s B&B in an idyllic waterfront village becomes the scene of a grisly murder–and a ruthless battle between treachery and the truth.

Nestled in the historic waterfront town of Beaufort, North Carolina, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast is a reader’s paradise. Built in 1770, the newly renovated inn hosts a roster of special events celebrating books, genres, and authors. It’s the perfect literary retreat–until a rare book dealer turns up dead in the carriage house during a celebration of Golden Age mystery author Josephine Tey.

The victim’s daughter points the finger at forty-two-year-old widow and former schoolteacher Charlotte Reed, who inherited the B&B from her great-aunt Isabella. Charlotte is shocked to discover that the book dealer suspected Isabella of being a thief who founded Chapters on her ill-gotten gains. Charlotte has successfully learned the B&B business in a year, but nothing has prepared her to handle a death on the premises.

Armed with intelligence and courage and assisted by her vibrant older neighbor, a visiting author, and members of a local book club, Charlotte is determined to prove her innocence and to clear her great-aunt’s name. But the murderer is still at large, and equally determined to silence anyone who might discover the truth behind the book dealer’s death. Now, Charlotte must outwit an unknown killer–or end up writing her own final chapter.

Greetings from Ellen Montgomery


Hello, my name is Ellen Montgomery. I live in the historic coastal town of Beaufort, North Carolina, in an elegant Victorian house that sits next door to a much older home, Chapters Bed-and-Breakfast.

I actually moved to Beaufort around the time Chapters was converted to a B&B, which was in the 1980s. Before that, it was a private home whose owner, Isabella Harrington, hosted glamorous parties and other events that drew politicians, socialites, and celebrities to our quiet town. But even though Isabella and I became friends as well as neighbors, I never partied with her during her “social butterfly” days. I still remember her as the owner of a literary themed B&B that hosted celebrations of books and authors.

Now Isabella’s grand-niece, Charlotte Reed, is running Chapters. Fortunately for book lovers, she’s continued the tradition of hosting weeklong events focused on authors, books, and book genres. Her recent celebration of F. Scott Fitzgerald was quite something—from my back garden I was able to observe the guests, dressed in charming costumes, enjoying a party on Chapters’s back patio. Honestly, it wouldn’t have been out of place in 1920s New York or Long Island.

The B&B’s latest event is apparently a celebration of “Golden Age” mystery author, Josephine Tey, complete with a 15th century costume party that’s meant to honor Tey’s famous book about Richard III, THE DAUGHTER OF TIME. I’ve seen Charlotte, her friend, Julie Rivera, and her housekeeper and cook, Alicia Simpson, bustling around for days, prepping the house and garden for this costumed dinner party. I hope all goes well. I did spy two of the guests, a married couple I believe, arguing in the front yard even before they checked-in last night. Seems like that might turn into a volatile situation. I hope not, especially since they brought their teenage daughter along.

You might wonder why I pay so much attention to what goes on at Chapters. Yes, I’m retired, and other than my little Yorkshire Terrier, Shandy, I do live alone. But I’m not simply an elderly neighbor looking for amusement by people-watching. I have my own reasons to keep an eye on things at Chapters, and on its proprietor. To be honest, I want to make sure Charlotte is safe and well. I guess you could call it a debt I owe Isabella Harrington. But… no more of that. There are aspects about my past I can’t really talk to anyone about, at least not yet. I may need to share a few secrets with Charlotte one of these days. It just depends how far and wide her natural curiosity leads her.

Anyway, enough about me. I’d like to know more about you. Let’s pretend we’re sitting in my beautiful parlor, surrounded by the art and artifacts I collected when I traveled the world as a film and TV location scout (which I did, among other things). Picture us sipping on some fine wine or a glass of freshly-pressed lemonade and nibbling on cookies baked by my local friends, Ophelia and Bernadette Sandburg. (They make the most delicious cookies!)

Now that we’re comfortable, tell me all about your favorite books and authors. As a reader myself, I’d love to know your thoughts, so please feel free to comment below.

About Virginia Gilbert


Victoria Gilbert, raised in the shadow of the Blue Ridge Mountains, turned her early obsession with reading into a dual career as an author and librarian. Victoria has worked as a reference librarian, research librarian, and library director. When not writing or reading, she likes to spend her time watching films, gardening, or traveling. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and International Thriller Writers and lives in North Carolina. This is her fourth Blue Ridge Library mystery.

Author Links:
Website/blog: http://victoriagilbertmysteries.com/
Facebook author page:  https://www.facebook.com/VictoriaGilbertMysteryAuthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/VGilbertauthor
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/VictoriaGilbert
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/victoriagilbertauthor/
YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC4J0jvZ-D0NVF9Qv7H2ua8Q

Purchase Links:
Amazon     B&N    Kobo    Indie Bound   


a Rafflecopter giveaway


TOUR PARTICIPANTS
June 8 – The Bookwyrm’s Hoard – REVIEW
June 8 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT
June 8 – The Ninja Librarian – REVIEW  
June 9 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW
June 9 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT
June 10 – MJB Reviewers – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 10 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT
June 10 – Diane Reviews Books – REVIEW
June 11 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW
June 11 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW
June 12 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW
June 12 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
June 13 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 13 – The Book Diva’s Reads – GUEST POST
June 14 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW
June 14 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 15 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW
June 15 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
June 15 – Brianne’s Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 16 – Ascroft, eh? – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
June 16 – Moonlight Rendezvous– REVIEW
June 16 – Jane Reads – GUEST POST
June 17 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW
June 17 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW
June 18 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW
June 18 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR INTERVIEW
June 19 – That’s What She’s Reading – REVIEW
June 19 – Sapphyria’s Books – REVIEW
June 20 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW
June 20 – Brooke Blogs – REVIEW
June 21 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW
June 21 – Literary Gold – CHARACTER GUEST POST

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?





Comments

  1. Thanks so much for participating in the blog tour and hosting Ellen's character post!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like a good cozy mystery. I love the cover.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Did you know? Comments shorter than 8 words are considered to be spam. Please, when leaving a comment, be sure that it is relevant to the post, and is more than just 2 or 3 words. I know we all enjoy the giveaways, but seriously, put some thought into your comments. If your comment looks and feels like spam, it will be removed. FYI - 'Sounds great. Thanks for sharing' is not a good comment. Thank you!