Cracker Town


Cracker Town

by W.F. Ranew


In 1955, Cleet Wrightman is found guilty of murdering a woman and sent to the Georgia State Mental Hospital to serve out his time until 1973. In spring of that year, young agent Red Farlow investigates the slayings of three members of the Goings family in Valdosta, but he was never able to apprehend the murderer.


A gentle breeze teased as the man leaned against the flaky bark of a pecan tree in a spot two miles west of Boston, Georgia. Cleet Wrightman soaked up the shade’s comfort after several long, warm April days on the road. His back eased against the trunk. Restful.

Cleet welcomed the morning sunlight as an assurance spring had arrived. Yet, the day warmed quickly. Probably no more than eighty then. He didn’t mind the heat, long as he was in the shade or caught a ride. Both offered a solace of their own, depending.

If he had to walk along the road, arm high begging for a ride, he would be in for perhaps hours of making slow way along Georgia’s two-lane blacktops. Something he had to do. But thumbing wouldn’t get him where he needed to go very fast. Then there was an occasional truck passing thirty yards or so from where he rested. Any one of their drivers might pick him up. Then, it was springtime, and he relished a day of lying in.

He’d gotten to the pecan grove the night before, late, and slept for several hours before the sun woke him up. He rubbed the night grit from his eyes and licked his tongue around a dry mouth. When he stood up and walked around the tree to limber up, he noticed his boots were wet. He shook off the dew, but he feared more blisters that day…

About the Author

W.F. Ranew writes the Red Farlow Mysteries series from Tirgearr Publishing. The most recent book is No. 5, Cracker Town.

Ranew formerly worked as a newspaper reporter, editor, and communication executive. He started his journalism career covering sports, police, and city council meetings at his hometown newspaper, The Quitman Free Press. He also worked as a reporter and editor for several regional dailies: The Augusta (Ga.) Chronicle, The Florida Times-Union, and The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.

Ranew has written two previous novels — Schoolhouse Man and Candyman’s Sorrow.

He lives with his wife in Atlanta and St. Simons Island, Ga.

Find all Farlow novels at — Rich and Gone, Blue Magnolia, Eat Beach, and Blood Mug.



W.F. Ranew will be awarding a $15 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. Cracker Town sounds like an edge of your seat mystery and I am looking forward to reading it! Thanks for sharing it and have a spectacular holiday season!

  2. An intriguing, cover, synopsis and excerpt, this sounds like an engaging mystery read. Thank you for sharing the author's bio and book details, I am looking forward to reading this story

  3. This promises to be a fabulous mystery. I love the mental hospital aspect.

  4. I really like the cover and the excerpt.

  5. The cover is interesting! It gives the reader a glimpse of what’s ahead!

  6. Thanks for your comments. This is my second novel about a mental patient. Candyman's Sorrow (Amazon) was the first. However, Cracker Town tells a different story. Cleet Wrightman gains his release from the state hospital and within a few weeks remakes his life into a new person. Literally.

  7. This is my favorite kind of read. I enjoyed the excerpt.

  8. Sounds really interesting. Thanks for sharing.

  9. The blurb does rather make you wonder how those two actions are related.


Post a Comment

Wait! Stop! Are you leaving the same old comment on all the blog pages? Try switching things up a bit. I love reading your comments, but if its the same thing each time... it feels like spam. And NO ONE likes spam...
Please make sure the comments you leave are related to the post, and are at least eight words in length.

Recent Posts

Recent Posts Widget