A Killing in Costumes

 


A Killing in Costumes (A Hollywood Treasures Mystery)
by Zac Bissonnette

About A Killing in Costumes 


A Killing in Costumes (A Hollywood Treasures Mystery)
Cozy Mystery – LBGT
1st in Series
Setting – California
Crooked Lane Books (August 9, 2022)
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639100865
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639100866
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09LH99ZCM

 

Stardom fades fast when you’re on the line for murder, in this debut cozy mystery perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Jenn McKinlay.

Jay Allan and Cindy Cooper were soap opera stars in the late ’90s, a wholesome young husband-and-wife duo who combined musical talent with humor and charisma. When the truth about their sexual orientations came to light, their marriage and TV careers ended, but decades later they have remained friends. Together, they open Palm Springs’ chicest movie memorabilia store, Hooray for Hollywood–but no customers and dwindling finances spell trouble.

A Hail Mary arrives in the form of Yana Tosh, a ninety-year-old diva of the silver screen who has amassed a valuable collection of costumes and props and is looking to sell. But first, Jay and Cindy have to beat their competition, a vice president from a mega-auction house with ten times their resources. And when he winds up dead, they become prime suspects in the murder.

With their freedom and livelihoods on the line, Jay and Cindy desperately need to clear their names. There are plenty of other potential suspects, but they’ll have to solve it soon before they’re forced to trade in their vintage costume collection for two orange jumpsuits.

 

About Zac Bissonnette 

Zac Bissonnette is the New York Times bestselling author of several nonfiction books, including The Great Beanie Baby Bubble: Mass Delusion and the Dark Side of Cute.

His favorite singer is Perry Como. His favorite author is Agatha Christie. His favorite tea is Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice.


Q&A With the Author


Who is your favorite author and why?

 

I'll go with Dick Francis, though I could answer this differently depending on the day.

 

The world of horses is such a perfect backdrop for these stories, which are perfectly plotted and cover the full range of humanity.


What is your favorite quote and why?

 

Fun question!  I like this one from Henrik Ibsen: "Money may be the husk of many things, but not the kernel. It brings you food, but not appetite; medicine, but not health; acquaintances, but not friends; servants, but not faithfulness; days of joy, but not peace or happiness."

 

What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing?

 

Clarity, I think, is the most universal one. Confusing isn't good!


What is your favorite part of this story?

 

THE END!!! But I can't give it away because it would ruin it!


Which Character was the most fun to write about? Why?

 

Hmm. Probably Cindy because she's a lot like me--quantitative, a worrier, analytical . . . I'm not making either of us sound like much fun, but I promise we're also really nice!


Which Character was the hardest to write about? Why?

 

I had to write a lot of dialogue for a 90-year old former film star, and I don't necessarily have much lived experience there!



 

Author Links – WebsiteTwitterBookBubGoodReads – 

Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKoboGoogle PlayIndieBound – 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

August 3 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

August 3 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

August 3 – I Read What You Write – SPOTLIGHT

August 4 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

August 4 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 5 – The Editing Pen – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

August 5 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

August 6 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

August 6 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 7 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

August 7 – Books Blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW  

August 9 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

August 9 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 10 – Ascroft, eh? – GUEST POST

August 10 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

August 10 – Novels Alive – SPOTLIGHT

August 11 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT  


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?
Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!





Comments

  1. What a fascinating and fun cast of characters! I am especially intrigued by the 90 year old diva!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a good book love the cover! I thank you so much for giving away a print copy battling RSD and can'd do any tech only print,..Also like to write reviews for books I read on goodreads and amazon. So glad that the book is on tour good luck! peggy clayton

    ReplyDelete
  3. I cannot wait to read this book it has an eclectic group of characters-thanks

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Wait! Stop! Are you leaving the same old comment on all the blog pages? Try switching things up a bit. I love reading your comments, but if its the same thing each time... it feels like spam. And NO ONE likes spam...

Recent Posts

Recent Posts Widget