A Nutcracker Nightmare

 

 

 

 

 A  Nutcracker Nightmare (A Killer Chocolate Mystery)

by Christina Romeril

About A Nutcracker Nightmare


 

A Nutcracker Nightmare (A Killer Chocolate Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Setting – Montana
Crooked Lane Books (October 17, 2023)
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639104917
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639104918
Kindle ASIN ‏ : ‎ B0BSKRF471

 

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and Laura Childs, when twin sisters Hanna and Alex help out at the local high school reunion, volunteering takes a turn when they find a former classmate’s dead body.

Hanna and Alex, owners of the Murder and Mayhem book and chocolate shop, are busy preparing for the Harriston High School’s reunion weekend. Neighbors will connect with old friends and perhaps try to avoid old foes. One person no one can avoid is Kyle, the former star quarterback, who is busy using his entire playbook to try and score with Hanna, even threatening her if she doesn’t play nice. At the reunion, Alex glimpses more drama than nostalgia as insults are flung around like a football at a Friday night game. The party is put on hold when Alex finds the dead body of none other than Kyle himself, bludgeoned to death by a nutcracker that the sisters admired earlier in the night.

Hanna quickly becomes the prime suspect—someone saw her slap Kyle in the face at the reunion dance. She’ll need her sister, their sleuthing canine, Watson, and their old friends and colleagues to help break this case wide open. While looking through old yearbooks and taking a stroll down memory lane, Alex uncovers a few secrets about Kyle, now, it seems like everyone had a motive to kill him.

But when the suspects start becoming the victims, Alex and Hanna know that they can’t melt under the pressure—they must find the killer before they become just another yearbook memory.

About Christina Romeril

 

Christina Romeril is the author of the Killer Chocolate Mystery series. The series is set in Montana at the foot of the Rocky Mountains, one of her favourite places to visit. She and her husband live a few hours away in a small village in Southern Alberta. When Christina isn’t writing she loves to hike in Waterton Lakes National Park, or just hang out there eating gourmet hot dogs and ice cream. When the former banker isn’t enjoying nature, she loves to create and consume chocolate confections. Not necessarily in that order.

 

Q&A With the Author


What was your inspiration for writing this book?

The concept for the book came to me about three years ago. I thought a high school reunion was a great setting for lots of potential suspects coming (back) from out of town. I had gone to my ten-year high school reunion many years ago and it occurred to me that a reunion in a small town could have so many secrets woven through it. At my reunion I saw some people and teachers that I had some mixed feelings about. Those thoughts led to the book. I love stories where the characters have all kinds of secrets.

What did you enjoy most about writing this book?

I love the cast of characters in this book, new and old. My amateur sleuths Alex and Hanna get to show more of themselves and we explore the relationships with the side characters a bit more. But I had lots of fun weaving clues and red herrings into the story. Christmas is my favorite time of year, so I never get tired of thinking and writing about it in my books.

Do you have any other books you are working on that you can tell us about?

I’ve written the proposal and much of the first draft for the third installment of the Killer Chocolate Mysteries. The third book has much stronger Christmassy vibes worked into the story. I’m really excited to get back to it. In publishing everything depends on sales, strong sales equals new contracts. Fingers crossed that A NUTCRACKER NIGHTMARE will do well and the next installment will be picked up.

I’m also working on a new mystery, cozy adjacent, more along the lines of Finlay Donovan and Dial A for Aunties. It explores female relationships between mother and daughter, and friends, new and old. It also looks at the consequences of keeping secrets and misunderstandings.

My sense of humor is on the dry, sarcastic side and I’d love to be able to let some of that seep into the story. Even though there will be murder and some darker themes, I’m hoping to keep it lighter with humor.  

Can you tell us about what you have planned for the future?


I’m excited to continue the Killer Chocolate series as well as the other project I’m working on. I’m learning so much about writing and always excited to keep improving and trying new things. 

In the future I’d also like to write thrillers. I have some ideas that I’m developing and so excited to get them started. I’d like to explore some darker themes so we’ll see where it all goes. Ultimately, I’ll want to keep writing cozies because I love a classic whodunit. 

Anything more you would like to say to your readers and fans?


Check out my website for some fun blog stories. You can connect with me there and through my social media. I love answering questions about my books and the writing process. 

If your local library doesn’t carry my books, please consider requesting them. Strong sales help to ensure a series continues and library sales are a huge help to authors. My books are also available in audio, for people who prefer to listen to their books. 

 


Webpage   https://christinaromeril.com/

Blog      https://christinaromeril.com/blog/

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/christinaromerilwriter

 Twitter    https://Twitter.com/romerilchris

 Instagram   https://www.instagram.com/christinaromerilwriter

 GoodReads  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/22222730.Christina_Romeril

Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKoboBookshop.org 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

October 23 – Cinnamon, Sugar, and a Little Bit of Murder – REVIEW, RECIPE

October 23 – Read Your Writes Book Reviews – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

October 23 – Christa Reads and Writes – SPOTLIGHT

October 24 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 24 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

October 24 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

October 25 – Mystery, Thrillers, and Suspense – AUTHOR GUEST POST

October 25 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 25 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

October 26 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

October 26 – Hearts & Scribbles  – SPOTLIGHT

October 26 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

October 27 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

October 27 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

October 27 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 28 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 28 – fundinmental – SPOTLIGHT

October 29 – StoreyBook Reviews – REVIEW

October 29 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee – SPOTLIGHT

October 29 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

October 30 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

October 30 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

October 30 – Novels Alive – REVIEW


Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?
Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!





Comments

  1. After reading the book excerpt I would like to read this book- I like school reunions also .

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Wait! Stop! Are you leaving the same old comment on all the blog pages? Try switching things up a bit. I love reading your comments, but if its the same thing each time... it feels like spam. And NO ONE likes spam...
Please make sure the comments you leave are related to the post, and are at least eight words in length.

Recent Posts

Recent Posts Widget