Snuffed Out

 

 

 

Snuffed Out (Magic Candle Shop Mystery)
by Valona Jones

About Snuffed Out


Snuffed Out (Magic Candle Shop Mystery)
Paranormal Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Setting –   Savannah, GA
Crooked Lane Books (January 10, 2023)
Hardcover 304 Pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639102051
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639102051
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09XM5PKP7

Twin sisters Tabby and Sage co-own a candle shop, but will it all go up in flames in Valona Jones’ series debut, perfect for fans of Amanda Flower and Bailey Cates.

30-year-old fraternal twins Tabby and Sage Winslow own The Book and Candle Shop in Savannah. Sage is hot-headed and impulsive while Tabby is calm and collected, making them the perfect partnership. When one of their customers is found murdered, from a blow to the head, that partnership is put to the test.

Blithe McAdam had been seen in a heated argument with shop clerk Gerard, which immediately makes him suspect number one. The twins are convinced of Gerard’s innocence and start digging into Blithe’s past. But no one is cooperating. The neighbor who found the body isn’t talking, medical examiner Quig won’t give any details about the autopsy, and nasty rumors begin surfacing about the drowning of Blithe’s father years earlier—evidence that could seal Gerard’s fate.

Tabby and Sage dig desperately for the truth. But it’s not only their friend who’s in peril. With the clock ticking, the twins find themselves in the grip of an unseen and deadly energy that has seeped into their midst—and in the sights of a ruthless killer.

About Valona Jones

Valona Jones writes paranormal cozy mysteries set in Southern locales. Her work blends mystery and the unexplained, along with a sprinkle of romance. A former scientist, she’s drawn to the study of personal energy. She sharpened her people-watching skills as a lifelong introvert and thankfully had a bank vault full of personal observations when she began to write fiction. Her forthcoming release, Snuffed Out, A Magic Candle Shop Mystery, is slated for January 10, 2023, release. She’s a member of Mystery Writers of America and Sisters in Crime. She lives in coastal Georgia, where time and tide wait for no one. Visit her at https://valonajones.com

Q&A With the Author


What did you enjoy most about writing this book? 


Everything! I love writing about twin sisters who have their own telepathic channel and several other secret paranormal skills as well. Their hometown of Savannah, Georgia, is near and dear to my heart, as are their wares in the eclectic Book and Candle Shop in the historic downtown area. Tabby Winslow, my amateur sleuth, makes the shop’s soaps and aromatherapy candles. Other handcrafted wares are stocked on consignment in the shop as well. So the shop has all the eye-catching wonderments of a new age store along with a cozy book nook that’s a popular haunt for the college art students. Tabby’s twin, Sage, has a real knack for growing plants, and the huge ferns in the front window are her pride and joy.


It wouldn’t be a book without conflict, so one of the shop’s dissatisfied customers dies. Then their shop clerk is accused of killing the woman. Tabby knows the future of their family business relies on this shop clerk, who has a superpower for sales. Natural and situational conflicts arose, building tension to a melting point, all of them a pure joy to write.



Do you have any other books you are working on that you can tell us about?


I am currently focusing all my efforts on the A Magic Candle Shop Mystery series. Book Two, In the Wick of Time, is under contract and should release in summer of 2023. This book features a Christmas Luminary Festival of Lights on River Street in Savannah, Georgia In the buzz of festival preparation, Sage’s boss at the nursery where she moonlights, is murdered, with poison. Soon the cops are knocking on the Sage’s door and accusing her of murder.



Can you tell us about what you have planned for the future?

Authors always hope that the books we write will become fan favorites. I am working on the third book in the series, and I hope the demand for the series encourages the publisher to pick it up. Because of the lag between contract and publication, I will likely have books three and four completed in 2023. I hope you love these characters as much as I do because I’d dearly love to continue to explore this rich story world with you.



How long have you been writing?

I wrote for several years without seeking publication, just for the joy of it. There came a point when I wanted to write for a publisher and that involved me upping my game and learning the business. My first mystery came out in 2006, published under the name Maggie Toussaint. I’ve written in multiple genres, but cozy mystery is my true love, and I very much enjoy writing paranormal cozies. Snuffed Out is my first release as Valona Jones.


Anything more you would like to say to your readers and fans?


I hope you’ll consider purchasing Snuffed Out or asking your library to order the hardcover edition. Thanks for sharing this magical journey with me. Let’s hope we have many such shared journeys. From Valona and all the gang at A Magic Candle Shop Mysteries: may your candles shimmer brightly, your hearth draw family and friends, and love’s warmth fill you with joy.


Author Links

Website: https://valonajones.com

Facebook: https://facebook.com/valonajonesauthor

BookBub  https://www.bookbub.com/authors/valona-jones

GoodReads  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/22140872.Valona_Jones

(Valona is not on twitter, Instagram, TikTok, nor Pinterest)

Purchase Links – Amazon KindleAmazon HardcoverNookB&N HardcoverKobo – 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

January 12 – The Book Decoder – REVIEW

January 12 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

January 12 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

January 13 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

January 13 – Jane Reads – AUTHOR GUEST POST

January 13 – Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

January 14 – I’m Into Books – SPOTLIGHT

January 14 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

January 15 – Brooke Blogs – AUTHOR GUEST POST

January 15 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

January 16 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

January 16 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

January 17 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

January 17 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – CHARACTER GUEST POST

January 17 – Mythical Books – SPOTLIGHT

January 18 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

January 18 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – REVIEW

January 19 – Guatemala Paula Loves to Read – REVIEW

January 19 – StoreyBook Reviews – AUTHOR GUEST POST

January 19 – The Book’s the Thing – CHARACTER GUEST POST

January 20 – Books to the Ceiling – SPOTLIGHT*

January 20 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

January 21 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

January 21 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway  

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!





Comments

  1. Replies
    1. Thanks for your comment, Rita. I am happy that the book is creating a stir. I hope you will buy the book or ask your library to order it as soon as possible. Thanks again, Maggie/Valona Jones

      Delete
  2. Sounds like my kind of book! peggy clayton

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Peggy. I'm glad you enjoy cozy paranormal mysteries--so do I! It is very fun to write this kind of book. Best wishes, Maggie/Valona Jones

      Delete
  3. You are a new author for me- after reading the book excerpt- I would like to read this book-thanks

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hey SAtkins, Thanks for stopping in on Snuffed Out's Great Escape Book Tour. I hope we stay connected. I'm on Facebook and I put out a monthly newsletter. I hope you have a good book right now to curl up with. That's my favorite thing to do in cold weather. Maggie/Valona Jones

      Delete
  4. Thanks, Literary Gold, for hosting Snuffed Out here on it's Great Escapes Book Tour. I greatly appreciate your hospitality and willingness to connect mystery readers and authors. All the best to you, Maggie/Valona Jones

    ReplyDelete
  5. I like the cover! It sets the mood for the book.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Sounds like a good read! Thanks for the chance!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Wait! Stop! Are you leaving the same old comment on all the blog pages? Try switching things up a bit. I love reading your comments, but if its the same thing each time... it feels like spam. And NO ONE likes spam...

Recent Posts

Recent Posts Widget